

NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR

BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

120 Torbay Road, P.O. Box 21040, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada, A1A 5B2

E-mail: gyoung@nlh.nl.ca

2014-09-23

Mr. Geoffrey Young Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro Hydro Place, 500 Columbus Drive P.O. Box 12400 St. John's, NL A1B 4K7

Dear Sir:

Re: Board's Investigation and Hearing into Supply Issues and Power Outages on the Island Interconnected System – Generation Availability Report – Request for Additional Information on the Annual Work Plan

We write further to your letter of September 15, 2014 on the above.

On page 5 of the report on the status of Annual Work Plan (AWP) items the status of AWP execution is provided for the Hardwoods and Stephenville gas turbines. With respect to Hardwoods, it is stated that a fire on July 25, 2014 resulted in a forced outage and that the return of the unit to service is a priority. Please provide by September 30, 2014 a detailed explanation as to the work that is required to return the unit to service, the anticipated date for completion of all repair and maintenance work on this unit and the progress of the repairs to date. As well please provide updates on this work in the future monthly reports.

With respect to the delay in completion of capital work on the Stephenville gas turbine, please explain by September 30, 2014 the reason for the delay, the steps Hydro is taking to address the delay and confirm whether there has been, as of the date of reply, a change in the completion date for the return of this unit to full service.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact the Board's Legal Counsel, Ms. Jacqui Glynn, by email, jgylnn@pub.nl.ca or telephone (709) 726-6781.

Yours truly,

Cheryl Blundon Board Secretary

/bds

Newfoundland Power Inc.

Mr. Gerard Hayes, E-mail: ghayes@newfoundlandpower.com Mr. Ian Kelly, QC, E-mail: ikelly@curtisdawe.com

Consumer Advocate

Mr. Thomas Johnson, E-mail: tjohnson@odeaearle.ca

Ms. Colleen Lacey, B-mail: clacey@odeaearle.ca Mr. Raman Balakrishnan, E-mail: rbalakrishnan@odeaearle.ca

Mr. Danny Dumaresque
Mr. Danny Dumaresque, E-mail: danny.liberal@gmail.com
Mr. William Kennedy, E-mail:wkennedy@kennedylawoffice.ca

Island Industrial Customer Group
Mr. Paul Coxworthy, E-mail: pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com
Mr. Dean Porter, E-mail: dporter@pa-law.ca
Grand Riverkeeper® Labrador Inc.
Ms. Roberta Frampton Benefiel, E-Mail: rebnfl@gmail.com
Mr. Charles O'Brien, E-mail: E-mail: bluegreenlaw@gmail.com
Mr. Philip@captte.bliog.comtrebelies.

Mr. Philip Raphals, E-mail: Philip@centrehelios.org